Over the last year, my life has changed pretty dramatically, mostly because it’s circled right back to my teenage years. I ended my long-term relationship, and began a new one… only it wasn’t new, exactly. The person I’m with now is the first person I was ever with, as we reconnected after twenty-five years apart. I sold my house, and we moved into the house my boyfriend grew up in. This was the same house he lived in when we dated as kids, so I’d been in it many times. It was virtually unchanged after his parents’ deaths: right down to the couch where we first made out! Though the old couch is gone, and our mix of furniture is now in it’s place, the wallpaper is the same as it was all those years ago.

My life is a strange mix of old and new, so it’s fitting that this post follows so closely on the heels of the same post from last year. Once again, I was at the fair. This time I took my new man, my son from the marriage that ended eight years ago, my recent ex’s two daughters… and my camera. Everyone had a great time.

Because I’d taken a thousand photos of the rides, the lights, and the empty fairgrounds over the last three years, I decided that this year I would try some street photography. I’m always nervous to take pictures of people surreptitiously. I don’t want to invade their privacy. But the kids were busy and my new/old man doesn’t really like posing for me, so there I was, either snapping the lights again, or finding something better. Street photography it is!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Furry tails were a popular prize.

Checking out the giant purple animal.

A mother and daughter sit find a quiet spot.

A mother and daughter find a quiet spot.

This woman's confidence and awesome outfit caught my eye.

This woman’s confidence and awesome outfit caught my eye.

A little boy plays with his blow-up hammer while his mom checks her phone.

A little boy plays with his blow-up hammer while his mom checks her phone.

A row of tigers judges contestants at the crossbow booth.

A row of tigers judges contestants at the crossbow booth.

A boy caresses his girlfriend's mermaid-dyed hair.

A boy caresses his girlfriend’s mermaid-dyed hair.

Riders wait to start spinning.

Riders wait to start spinning.

The ride operator shows my boyfriend where to sit when the ride stops.

The ride operator shows my boyfriend where to sit when the ride stops.

My son and ex's daughter wait to start the ride.

My son and ex’s daughter wait to start the ride.

A teenage employee checks his phone after the milking exhibit shuts for the evening.

A teenage employee checks his phone after the milking exhibit shuts for the evening.

The ride operator, wearing a climbing harness, hikes up to the stopped cars of the loop-de-loop roller coaster after one of the rider's safety bar didn't quite close.

The ride operator, wearing a climbing harness, hikes up to the stopped cars of the loop-de-loop roller coaster after one of the rider’s safety bar didn’t quite close.

