jessicaminiermabe

my writing, photography and the occasional handicraft

So the six people who weren’t following this blog when it was Freshly Pressed know that I’ve taken a few self-portraits over the years. I like exploring my own face. Does that sound weird? I suppose faces are strange, aren’t they? I mean, we see ourselves daily, yet photography allows us to see ourselves through an entirely different “lens” than our own eyes.

The funny thing is, I hate other people’s photos of me. I always think I look fat and slightly mentally challenged, no matter how cute they say the photo is. But I like my own photos of me, even when they are supremely unflattering (like the first one, which was literally taken less than a minute after the second one). What does that mean? That I see myself differently than others see me? I’m not sure. I do know my mother insisted in every photo I ever took of her that she looked like a gnome. So perhaps this is a hereditary problem.

Anyway, here are a few of my favorite pictures of me! Taken by me!

august24_1
august24_2

september8
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 Responses to “Photography: On Self-Portraits…”

  1. Cathy Clark

    Jessica – These are beautiful. You are beautiful. I can see my cousin, your mother, in so many ways. Thank you for sharing this morning.

    Reply
    • jessicaminiermabe

      Thanks Cathy! I do look a lot like mom, though also like my dad. My son is the same way. Sometimes he looks like me, and other times like his dad. Genetics are a strange and beautiful thing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

