So, I asked for these for Christmas, and received: Mary Flanagan Mini Textured Felted Wool Bundles. Now I have no idea what to do with them! I have two color-matched bundles of beautiful wool felt, one in oranges and one in midnight blues. Each square is about 6″ x 8″, and there are ten squares in a bundle. So that’s 480 square inches of felt. They all look lovely together.

But… there isn’t enough there to make an afghan (and they’re not very soft, frankly). An afghan would need four times as much! Too much for just one pillow, and how many felted wool pillows would I need/want?

Felt projects on the web are too cutesy. These squares are so beautiful and elegant. I can’t turn them into felt animals or heart magnets for my fridge. Besides, I don’t like that sort of thing. I want my work to result in something useful. I can’t see myself carrying a felt patchwork bag and I’m allergic to wool, so no scarves/hats/clothing.

Perhaps some sort of patchwork pillow cover? But then I’ll have a lot of leftover felt. Perhaps many patchwork pillow covers… Perhaps I have friends who desperately need patchwork pillow covers.

I just don’t know. I feel like these deserve a cool project, and as they were a gift, I don’t really want to make things to give away with them. They were sort of an impulse request, but now that they’re here, I’m stumped. I also feel like, hey, they’re FELT. I ought to do something that utilizes the unique quality of felted wool: it doesn’t need to be hemmed. I can make something somewhat sculptural with it, so maybe I should.

What to do? I must ponder this problem. Suggestions welcome!

